Home > Bursaries > , , , > Green Bursary

Green Bursary

This bursary was established in 2005 in memorium for Monica Frith Green (1917 – 2004) who devoted her career to the advancement of public health nursing in British Columbia. Born in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, in 1917, she moved to B.C. as a child. She graduated from the six-year, double-degree nursing program at the University of British Columbia, with her RN from Vancouver General Hospital, and her Bachelor of Arts (1939) and Bachelor of Applied Science in Nursing (1940). Soon after graduation, she joined the Provincial Public Health Nursing Service, working in the Okanagan and in Creston. After a leave to obtain a Master’s degree in Public Health Nursing from the University of Michigan, she returned to the B.C. PHN Service as a Consultant.

In 1948, she was promoted to Director. Under her gifted administrative skills, the nursing service expanded and she introduced, among other advances, a post-hospitalization home-care program, one of the first in Canada. Throughout her career, Mrs. Green was active in professional associations and was, among other positions, president of the Canadian Public Health Association (CPHA). In 1967, she was honoured by her U.S. colleagues and became Honourary President of the American Public Health Association and in 1968 was made an APHA Fellow. I n 1975, she received the Award of Merit from the B.C. Branch of the CPHA for outstanding contributions to public health services and public health nursing. Following retirement, she wrote the thoroughly-researched and well-illustrated ‘Through the Years with Public Health Nursing: A History of Public Health Nursing in the Provincial Government Jurisdiction British Columbia’ (Ottawa: CPHA, 1984), now a classic reference book. In recognition of her writings, she was named an Honourary Life Member of the History of Nursing Professional Practice Group of the College of Registered Nurses of B.C. She died on December 28, 2004.

Bursary Information

Level: Certificate, Diploma, Graduate, Undergraduate
Area of study: Public Health

Special requirements

Employed in a Provincial Health Unit or in a Community Health role.
Confirmation of enrollment in a Baccalaureate or Graduate degree program with the main focus on Community Health.

Past Recipients


  • Chelsea Linton (University of British Columbia)
  • Euodi T-Giorgis (British Columbia Institute of Technology)
  • Inderpreet Mangat (Okanagan College)
  • Kathelean Miranda (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)


  • Alex Lukey (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Avee Khela (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Jamie Clarke (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  • Olivia Toombs (Camosun College)
  • Rajwinder Sidhu (University of the Fraser Valley)
  • Rydell Mortel (Langara College)


  • Avneet Khela (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Kristin Ringstad (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Marie Sonnenberg (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  • Naureen Mukhi (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  • Trevor Goodyear (University of British Columbia Vancouver)


  • Adigo Angela Achoba-Omajali (Thompson Rivers University)
  • Resh Racine (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  • Serena Eagland (University of Calgary)


  • Christine Gillespie (Royal Roads University)
  • Krystil Choy (University of Northern British Colombia)
  • Navdeep Dhillon (University of British Columbia)
  • Yvonne Bone (University of British Columbia)


  • Anna Russell (University of British Columbia)
  • Christina Chant (University of British Columbia)
  • Dianne Clarence (Yorkville University)
  • Mariko Miller (Athabasca University)
  • Michael LaGuardia (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  • Patricia Woods (University of Victoria)
  • Sarah Beck (University of Victoria)
  • Scott Beck (University of British Columbia)
  • Taavita Hemraj (University of British Columbia)
  • Valerie Murphy Moore (University of Northern British Colombia)


  • Alison Warren (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Brenda Marsman (University of Saskatchewan)
  • Emma Strobell (Trinity Western University)
  • Jeannine Chung (Thompson Rivers University)
  • Patrice Wright (University of British Columbia)


  • Kimberly Andreassen (Athabasca University)
  • Melanie Starzyk (University of Northern British Colombia)
  • Natalie Murphy (Athabasca University)
  • Valerie Murphy Moore (University of Northern British Colombia)


  • Brittany Kobley (University of Victoria)
  • Jennifer Hampel (University of British Columbia)
  • Marnie Hauck (Walden University)


  • Alida Fernhout (Liverpool School of Tropical Nursing)
  • Melanie Starzyk (University of Northern British Colombia)


  • Catherine McNamee-Clark (University of British Columbia)
  • Leona McBride (University of Northern British Colombia)


  • Leah Wilson (University of Victoria)
  • Marco Gnoato (University of British Columbia)

Back to bursaries