Home > Bursaries > , , , > Sutherland Foundation Bursary

Sutherland Foundation Bursary

Established by Mary’s dear friend and fellow nurse, Helen Robertson. They met in nursing school at Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, both immigrated to Canada and graduated from McGill. Mary is recognized for her role as a respected nursing educator at BCIT in the RN program and psychiatric nursing program.

Bursary Information

Level: Certificate, Diploma, Graduate, Undergraduate
Area of study: Mental health/Psychiatric nursing

Special requirements

Students studying mental health nursing

Past Recipients


  • Angelica Alquiros (Stenberg College)
  • Ann-Mrie Cooper (Stenberg College)
  • Jenny Landis (Stenberg College)
  • Monique Champagne (Douglas College)
  • Stephanie Svensson (Trinity Western University)


  • Amanda Molland (Stenberg College)
  • Carla Vidal (Yorkville University)
  • Chinenye Okigbo (Stenberg College)
  • Courtney Devane (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Faith Longaza (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Gursharan Sandhu (Stenberg College)
  • Jenny Landis (Stenberg College)
  • Kelsey Devries (Stenberg College)
  • Kemi Adetutu (Stenberg College)
  • Kyla Hoffman (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Lauren Airth (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  • Michelle Danda (University of Alberta)
  • Patrick Franke (Stenberg College)
  • Paweit Dyal (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Sarah Rawson (Stenberg College)


  • Aimi Shibayama-Tsuchiya (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Alanna Parcher (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Haylee Rolston (College of the Rockies)
  • Hayley Rachamimov (British Columbia Institute of Technology)
  • Jamie Roberts (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Jessie Li (Douglas College)
  • Keenan Nowak (College of the Rockies)
  • Liam Webster (University of British Columbia Vancouver)
  • Nicole Del Frari (University of Victoria)
  • Victoria Bester (Trinity Western University)


  • Becky Chang (Vancouver Community College)
  • Kaitlin Sterndale-Bennett (University of British Columbia)
  • Katherine Hodgson (University of Northern British Colombia)
  • Nicole Nicholas (University of Victoria)
  • Pearl Allard (Vancouver Island University)
  • Tenisha Poteate (Vancouver Community College)
  • Tonie Castro (University of Victoria)


  • Cassandra Black (University of Victoria)
  • Dakota Inglis (University of British Columbia)
  • Jennifer Thiel (Adler University)
  • Kandace Kennedy (Thompson Rivers University)
  • Mhairin Macdonald (University of British Columbia)
  • Rachael Thorlakson (University of Northern British Colombia)
  • Trevor Goodyear (University of British Columbia)


  • Alanna Jackson (Athabasca University)
  • Amanda Weir (Coast Mountain College)
  • Artur Niziolek (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Ava Moezinia (British Columbia Institute of Technology)
  • Ciara Knapp (Athabasca University)
  • Devin Landis (University of British Columbia)
  • Jacqueline Tsang (Langara College)
  • Jennifer MacKenzie (British Columbia Institute of Technology)
  • Jessica Peart (University of Victoria)
  • Jessy Dame (University of British Columbia)
  • Kathleen McHale (University of Victoria)
  • Kristen Tsui (Langara College)
  • Lauren Airth (University of British Columbia Okanagan)
  • Rebecca Laursen (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Renee Belgrave (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Sharon Man (Langara College)
  • Shea Sanderson (University of British Columbia)


  • Andrea Acosta (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Canice Ma (Camosun College/University of Victoria)
  • Carla Mae Rose Casinillo (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Hannah Thomson (University of Victoria)
  • Jacqueline Tsang (Langara College)
  • Jamie Holland (University of Northern British Colombia)
  • Jayden Lontayao (University of Victoria)
  • Renee Belgrave (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Samantha Savage (Vancouver Island University)
  • Trevor Goodyear (University of British Columbia)


  • Alex Thi (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Amandeep (Aman) Tiwana (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Carla Danielson (University of Victoria)
  • Christina Rogers (University of Northern British Colombia)
  • Jay Williams (University of British Columbia)
  • Kristi Knox (Vancouver Island University)
  • Michael Thompson (Athabasca University)


  • Christina Chant (University of British Columbia)
  • Deirdre Salisbury (University of British Columbia)
  • Fraser Nelson (University of British Columbia)
  • Jennifer Du (British Columbia Institute of Technology)
  • Lauren Chant (Vancouver Community College)
  • Margaret Edworthy (University of British Columbia)
  • Shannon Riley (Simon Fraser University)
  • Stacie Kohut (University of British Columbia)


  • Brenda Williams (University of British Columbia)
  • Danielle Davis (Langara College)
  • Jennifer Hampel (University of British Columbia)
  • Kaycee Buckles (Douglas College)


  • April Bakonyi (University of British Columbia)
  • Stacey Melvin (British Columbia Institute of Technology)


  • Beejay Digno (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
  • Rachel Croy (Langara College)
  • Zenaida Telfair (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)


  • Krista Walker (Douglas College)
  • Rebecca Olesen (University of Victoria)

Back to bursaries